State of Vermont House of Representatives



Montpelier, Vermont

Concurrent House Resolution

H.C.R. 171

House concurrent resolution congratulating Lisa A.M. Atwood and Amy L. Rex on being named corecipients of the 2017 Robert F. Pierce Secondary School Principal of the Year Award

Offered by: Representatives Grad of Moretown, Greshin of Warren, Stevens of Waterbury, and Wood of Waterbury

Offered by: Senators Brooks, Cummings, and Pollina

<u>Whereas</u>, although arriving at their posts from different academic and career backgrounds, Lisa Atwood and Amy Rex have formed an unbeatable and widely lauded team as innovative co-principals of Harwood Union Middle- High School, and

<u>Whereas</u>, Lisa Atwood graduated from Worcester State College in Massachusetts and Indiana University in Bloomington, focusing on health and physical education; was a professor at Norwich University's Department of Health, Physical Education, and Recreation, coaching women's sports and serving as an assistant athletic director; joined the Harwood Union High School faculty in 1988, and in 2006 began her climb up Harwood's administrative leadership ladder, culminating in her 2012 appointment as one of the school's two co-principals, and

<u>Whereas</u>, Amy Rex earned degrees from the Universities of Massachusetts and of Vermont in Eastern European Studies and education; is an alumna of the Snelling Leadership Institute; and has held education positions at Johnson's Laraway School, Lamoille Union Middle School, and Danville's K–12 school, where she served as principal, and

<u>Whereas</u>, Harwood students have commented on their co-principals' commitment to upholding students' voices in the decision-making process, and the Atwood–Rex team pushes its professional colleagues to continue improving in the performance of their duties, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the co-principals' dynamic leadership initiatives have won many commendations and three support grants from the Rowland Foundation, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the tragic deaths of five Harwood students in an automobile accident last fall tested the coprincipals in ways they could never have envisioned, and under the most trying of circumstances, they taught the students how to grieve and then to continue forward with their lives, and

<u>Whereas</u>, for all these reasons, Lisa Atwood and Amy Rex were each most deservedly honored as a winner of the 2017 Robert F. Pierce Secondary School Principal of the Year Award, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates Lisa A.M. Atwood and Amy L. Rex as corecipients of the 2017 Robert F. Pierce Secondary School Principal of the Year Award, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Lisa Atwood and Amy Rex.